Self-confidence

A short one today….really.  It is.  My wife and daughter and I were baking last night.  I do not like baking, but I persevered for the better good.  I am not a sweet eater, so perhaps that is why I do not like baking.  I have many vices, sweets is thankfully not one of them.

So, as we are baking away, and listening to the Toronto Maple Leafs crush Anaheim, we are chatting, and invariably we begin talking about school sports, as I coach volleyball and my daughter plays in all sports in school.  We are talking about another student who has begun to excel in jumping.  Always a tall person, this particular athlete has found themselves physically and has developed coordination to take advantage of a natural height advantage.

However, the conversation was about how this student, despite having a height advantage, did not always want to jump in sports.  I commented that I felt this was about confidence and comfort. This young person was always taller than classmates, since the early days, and was obviously somewhat self-conscious about it.  As the athlete matures, they lose those issues and begin to realize the physical gifts they have.

My comment was something along the lines of:  Well, ___________ used to be self-conscious about the height and did not have the confidence to take advantage of it……” or something like that, and my wife says to me:  “Let’s face it.  Most problems we all have in terms of learning, competing or just doing things stem from self-confidence.”.

My wife is not a teacher, but is university educated.  Perhaps she has managed to put succinctly what some of us have spent 23 years trying to battle.

So, I ask two questions, and offer absolutely on answers.

1.  How many of our issues in school stem from a lack of self-confidence?  Not just learning.  Behaving, social issues, attendance, and others?

2.  What do we do about it?  If the answer to question number one is “many”, then whatever we have been doing has not been working.

My role in the baking last night was to use this neat little wooden tool, that when pressed down on a ball of dough, in a mini-muffin tray, produces a mini tart shell that can then be baked, then filled with some sort of sickly sweet mixture.  In the initial stages, it was not working well.  The tool was sticking.  The shells were cracking.  So, we experimented and figured it out.

How many of our student shells are continuing to “stick” and “crack”.  Are we doing anything differently to address this?

Wow, under 500 words.  Whatcha think, @bgrasley?

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to all!

2 thoughts on “Self-confidence

Leave a Reply

